How I Started my Tech Journey!

ยท

3 min read

Introduction

Every Journey begins with a step as you know. This content will take you through my experience on the journey into Tech! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

My prior perspective

It would interest you to know how naive and ignorant I was at first even at the time I picked an interest in Tech.

All I knew was that I wanted to build stuff and one of the things I could think of was to build a website. Of cause I also had an interest in building some sort of mobile apps like the ones I used on my smartphone. But I knew nearly nothing about getting those done until I met a friend who had already been into tech long before me!

What sparked my interest in tech

On a particular day at the University, I went to a friend of mine who had been into tech and saw some things on his PC. They were lines of code. curiously, I asked him what he was doing and how easy it was to do the same. He then emphasised how easy it was to do something of such. I so much wanted to get started but I had no PC.

What I started with as a Web Developer

I started with my Mobile Phone. I had a smartphone I used then for whatever I did as a beginner in web development. I installed a mobile IDE, TrebEdit. I so much loved the IDE because it could be used offline as data cost was also a major challenge. I also installed several learning apps such as Solo Learn and even installed Grasshopper to learn a language.๐Ÿ˜…

Imagine the life of a programmer without a computer๐Ÿ˜…. It was so frustrating as sometimes the phone would suddenly just not respond. I had to type every single thing with my fingers on the small screen. It was a H**l๐Ÿ˜ฉ

Yet I made interesting stuff with it. I can remember making a dummy website and then sending the screenshot to a friend who was already into tech. He was so stunned that I could do something of such with a smartphone. He even had to post the screenshot on his Whatsapp status to tell people that there was no excuse for them not to do something. Thats was a great deal of encouragement to me at the time.

The pause

Of cause, there was a time I had to pause ( not stop). I was just so tired of learning and building with my smartphone. It was so tiring that I abandoned it for a long time. Not having a laptop really slowed down my learning and improvement.

Just after I got a laptop, it appeared to me like I was still hibernating. I ought to have started something and been building stuff. Thanks to a friend who would always say to me " What have you been doing all this while?". I woke up and got to work so much that most of my projects were built at that time and I'm happy with the progress๐Ÿ˜Ž

Where I am

Oh! Where I am? ๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyways, I am in the growing stage. There is a common saying that learning never ends. It's so surprising to us as Junior Developers sometimes to hear Senior Developers say that they are still learning. yeah, be calm. It's just the truth. It's nothing to be bothered about. Even in general life outside the tech world, learning never ends. But we can attain certain learning heights that we can boldly say "I have learnt".

Conclusion

The tech journey is not a day journey yet it's about taking one step at a time. Do not rush. Do not quit. Frustration will surely come for you but remember that quitters never win!

ย